PIERANGELO GAREGNANI THESIS PRIZE 2020

Report of the Committee for the assignment of the Prize, composed of: prof. Aldo Barba, prof. Enrico Bellino, prof. Roberto Ciccone

The Committee acknowledges that applications for the Pierangelo Garegnani Thesis Prize 2020 have been presented by the following candidates (in brackets the title of the doctoral thesis):

Ramiro Alvarez (*Essays on the Argentine political economy through the lens of the Classical-Keynesian approach*, Universities of Florence, Siena, and Pisa);

Samuele Bibi (The State again, Universities of Trento and Florence);

Guilherme Haluska (*Essays on capacity utilization and the Sraffian Supermultiplier for the US economy*, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro);

Up Sira Nukulkit (*Growth and distribution, technological progress, and economic policy,* University of Utah).

Charles Read (British economic policy and Ireland, c. 1841-53, University of Cambridge);

Davide Romaniello (*L'isteresi nella disoccupazione e il ruolo della disoccupazione di lunga durata quale causa delle rigidità salariali: un approccio critico*, Roma Tre University);

Chiara Salvatori (*Measures of potential GDP in different theoretical contexts*, Roma Tre University);

The Committee has examined the doctoral theses presented by the candidates listed above. Expressing satisfaction for the high quality of all the works, the Committee, basing its judgment on the contents, expositive efficacy as well as congruence with the lines of research developed by Pierangelo Garegnani, wards the Pierangelo Garegnani Thesis Prize 2020 to:

Dr Chiara Salvatori

Centro Sraffa would like to thank all the young scholars who have presented their work and whose participation contributes to expressing the vitality of the orientation which inspires the Prize.

Centro Sraffa will subsequently announce the event in which the award ceremony will take place

Rome, 09 December 2020

The Committee: Aldo Barba Enrico Bellino Roberto Ciccone